The Official Fan Page for Richard Robert's Please Don't Tell My Parents I'm A Super Villain

REVIEWS

Reviews make or break an author and their novel’s success. We want to give a special thanks to each and every one of the reviewers who took the time to tell us what they think about Please Don’t Tell My Parents I’m a Super Villain. While hunting down reviews for this page, we were further humbled that ALL of the most recent reviews are 4.5 to 5 stars. Feeling bad, I looked at the averages to see why I could find some lower scores as well to demonstrate all opinions, and we couldn’t find them! That’s right, check out the graph, only 1 negative review, and 65 perfect scores. We are SO glad you have all enjoyed Roberts’ latest novel as much as we have. Here are a few of the most recent reviews!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn’t put it down, April 7, 2014
By SPDan 
Format: Please Don’t Tell My Parents I’m a Supervillain (Kindle Edition)
I was honestly surprised how good and how involving this book was. I couldn’t pull myself away for a minute once I started reading. It didn’t take very long for for me to become completely engrossed in the storyline and the characters. I honestly haven’t been this engrossed in a book since the Harry Potter books, which I was reminded of reading this. I can honestly say that I will be anxiously awaiting the announced sequel to this and hopefully more beyond that. This book has the potential to become I great series of books with each expanding the world within as well as adding to the adventures, and misadventures, of the main characters.I have read some reviews where people were critical of the author simply explaining away some parts of the main character’s abilities and how her inventions work by making her unable to accurately recall how she made them. I see this simply as a part of the developing plot, something hopefully to be expanded upon in future sequels. Also, in the aforementioned Harry Potter book, or the hugely popular Twilight Saga unexplainable events are simply explained away as magic. I fail therefore, to see how this is really any different, especially in a world where super powers such as the main character’s abilities or being able to fly or magically conjure up fire exist.

5.0 out of 5 stars Just one thing…, April 6, 2014
Amazon Verified Purchase
This review is from: Please Don’t Tell My Parents I’m a Supervillain (Kindle Edition)
This was an excellent read and a GREAT addition to the superhero/villain genre, but there are dozens of reviews here that can tell you about that, so I won’t waste anyone’s time rehashing that.I’m writing this because I saw the “What if Harry Potter Was Steampunk” ads. I have to say (intending as a compliment) that this book shares very little in common with the Potter books. So if anyone is out there not sure if they should get this with THAT particular recommendation, ignore it. This book is good, and not a weird superhero ripoff of JK Rowling.

5.0 out of 5 stars MORE!!! March 16, 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Amazon Verified Purchase
I’d never heard of RIchard Roberts before. I am a total comic super hero geek, when I saw this book was about a 13 year old girl whose parents are super heroes, becoming a super villain with her two best friends, I thought the idea was great and the e-book price was inexpensive. I was currently going through P.S. Powers Infected series, which is a darker humanity hates super powered people type universe, and was ready for a break for something lighter to read for a bit. The moment I started reading Please Don’t Tell My Parents I’m a Super Villain I was TOTALLY drawn into the story. It was pure unadulterated super hero / super villain delicious, wonderful, wacky, AWESOME fun. I’m not much of an artist but I want to draw the characters pretty bad, and to see this book in a graphic novel format someday. If you like superheros / villains, and young teens dealing with super powers and a whole world heroes and villains plus middle school and parents, this story will totally rock your boat and make you a total fan.I’m not going to go over what the story is about, the story blurb does that and lots of other reviews have hit the high points. I’m just saying this is a book every super hero / villain fan should check out. I can’t gush about this book enough, and I am going to do a rare thing and re-read it immediately because I enjoyed it so much and I know reading it again will be great. I really wish I were a great artist because this is a book that really deserves loads of great fan art :DThis is a SUPER great read, and I am wanting a sequel very badly. Great story, great characters, descriptions are excellent, you can totally SEE this story in your mind. MORE please!


5.0 out of 5 stars There’s a new supervillain in town… February 23, 2014
Format:Kindle Edition
Young children often want to be just like their parents, and teenagers want to be anything but. In between is the time when people first begin to branch out to forge their new identities; some achieve, some conform, and some rebel. Some rebel by accident.This is the case with young Penny Akk. Her parents – known to the adoring public and terrified villains as ‘The Audit’ and ‘Brainy Akk’ – are famed superheroes, and she wants nothing more than to be a hero like them. This is equal parts wanting to follow in their world-saving footsteps and wanting to get out from under their perpetual shadow, but when she gets her wish it doesn’t go nearly how she expects. The sudden awakening of her powers as an incredible technologist able to intuitively build devices that bend the very laws of time and space would have been the best day of her life had it not quickly been followed by a series of unfortunate events that saw her and her two best-friends-slash-henchmen branded as villains instead. Soon the entirety of hero society is searching high and low for the new threat on the block, and the only thing more frightening than this is the delighted welcoming embrace of the villainous comnmunity… and how good that feels.It is difficult in the extreme for a young adult book to simultaneously present interesting characters and a fascinating plot, let alone one capable of appealing to older people as well, but in ‘Supervillain’ Richard Roberts has rung the cherries. Not only are Penny and her friends Claire and Ray more complex and realistic personalities than this genre usually plays host to, but even one-appearance background characters are given their own voices and goals in a way that presents a vibrant and weirdly realistic depiction of a city overrun with super-powered criminals and vigilantes – one noteworthy example is the brawny Juggernaut-like supervillain Bull, whose single brief appearance nonetheless leaves you sad for him and wanting to know how it works out.

The only downside are that the book is a little bit long, and in a few brief places seems to drag. Strangely, these are in the action sequences: the characters and their interactions are so interesting that the few scenes of actual toe-to-toe action feel like distractions. Of course, they are also necessary: a superhero story without action would be like a spider without its web, or indeed a supervillain without their henchmen – incomplete.

There is nothing incomplete about “Please Don’t Tell My Parents I’m a Supervillain”. It starts where it should, ends where it has to, and virtually everything in between is a delight. This will appeal to anyone with a sense of wonder and adventure, but it is especially recommended for girls who think one more pretty pink princess would be about ten too many. Penny Akk forges her own way, and brooks no opposition!

And I for one welcome our new pre-adolescent overlord.


5.0 out of 5 stars Too few good crossover titles out there, March 24, 2014
Amazon Verified Purchase
This review is from: Please Don’t Tell My Parents I’m a Supervillain (Kindle Edition)
The teacher at my DD’s school just mentioned how few books there are these days that kids of both genders can sink their newly cutting mature readers’ teeth into, and just as I was ready to point out H.I.V.E (which i eventually did) – she went and told me about this. Needless to say, we went for it. And am I glad we did!The Supervillain is a character my daughter could really relate to – and the storyline I could enjoy without feeling it was deliberately dumbed down or copied from all the proliferating teen lit. Don’t get me wrong, there is time and place for Twilight and Mortal Instruments, but when you want to get away from the romance of it all and dive into the plot and the coming of age themes in a rather psychedelic setting, this is your book.

4.0 out of 5 stars If there had been a sequel I would have bought and downloaded it the moment I finished reading this book., March 11, 2014
Amazon Verified Purchase
This review is from: Please Don’t Tell My Parents I’m a Supervillain (Kindle Edition)
Superheroic prose is difficult to do well, too many authors dwell on the ridiculousness of the subject and forget to capture the magic of superheroes.Thankfully this author nails it. We get a world of heroes without the need to constantly point out how silly such a setting would be. We get to follow the life of fun but, within the context of the setting, quite serious characters.Nearly every time Penelope breaks into villain laughter, I found myself giggling and laughing. Her dialog is just a joy, the difference between her inner thoughts (panicked and upset) and her outer voice (full of wonderfully over the top evil monologuing and mockery) had me laughing and cheering her on.

There are a few flaws, such as the ease at which the three children become villains, and how oblivious certain characters have to be not to notice. A few plot points that doesn’t get addressed (I’m hoping for a sequel), and jumps in the narrative that left me wondering if I missed something earlier.


5.0 out of 5 stars I can’t wait to read more from this author, March 24, 2014
Format: Please Don’t Tell My Parents I’m a Supervillain (Kindle Edition)
Penelope Akk would do anything to be super like her parents. This is a wonderful coming of age book. It had the perfect dose of comedy and drama to it. I was very happy with this book, Mr Roberts really did an great job with this book. I highly recommend this book to anyone wanting something a little more then just a normal boring everyday coming of age story. I can’t wait to read more from this author. 😀

5.0 out of 5 stars I hear that there’s a sequel in progress and I’m eagerly waiting for it, April 3, 2014

Format: Please Don’t Tell My Parents I’m a Supervillain (Kindle Edition)
This book has strong characters, an interesting setting and inventions that I love. In fact, I think my little brother (age 10) would be perfect for this book, since he loves inventing stuff. Not just my brother though, this is a fun book that I think will appeal to a large age-group; after all, I enjoyed it too.

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s